Schools & Departments
Schools & Departments
The School of Pharmacy
2016-10-19 Visit:

In December 2005, in response to the great call of “revitalizing the old industrial bases in Northeast China”, China Medical University (CMU) resumed the School of Pharmacy according to the practical needs from the society as well as teaching, research and discipline development. Under the care of the Communist Party of China and the Government, with the support of CMU, the school has set its development goal as “highlighting clinical pharmacy on the basis of overall development of all pharmacy disciplines”. With the great development of connotation construction and progressive improvement of comprehensive capabilities, the school has made outstanding contributions to the cultivation of high-level, high-quality and competent pharmaceutical talents.

The pharmacy discipline was first established in Yan’an in 1940. Among the disciplines in the field of pharmacy, the pharmacology discipline at our school was among the first batches of disciplines to grant Master’s Degree in 1978, and was the first discipline approved for Ph.D. Degree granting in Northeast China in 1993. Currently, the school has 1 Liaoning provincial key discipline (pharmacology), 1 second-level discipline authorized to grant doctorate degree (pharmacology), 1 first-level discipline authorized to grant master’s degree (pharmacy), 1 program for granting professional master’s degree (pharmacy), and 1 first-level discipline postdoc mobile research station (pharmacy). The school consists of 9 research and teaching departments including Department of  Medicinal Chemistry, Department of  Natural Medicinal/Products Chemistry, Department of Pharmaceutics, Department of Pharmacognosy, Department of Pharmaceutical Analysis, Department of Microbial and Biochemical Pharmacy, Department of Pharmacology, Department of Clinical Pharmacology, and  Department of Pharmaceutical Toxicology. It also has 6 research laboratories including Laboratory of Natural Pharmacy, Laboratory of Biopharmaceuticals, Laboratory of Drugs Synthesis and Bionics, Laboratory of Neuroendocrine Pharmacology, Laboratory of Ion Channel Pharmacology, and Laboratory of Chinese Medicine Pharmacology. The school has three research and teaching departments of clinical pharmacy in the three affiliated hospitals of CMU.  There are 1 provincial experimental teaching demonstration center (Experimental Teaching Center for Clinical Pharmacy), 1 provincial virtual simulation experimental teaching center (Virtual Simulation Experimental Teaching Center for Clinical Pharmacy), and 1 biopharmaceutical institute. In addition, the school has 3 administrative offices including Party and Administration Office, Office for Talents Cultivation and Disciplines and Research Management, and Student Affairs Office (Communist Youth League Committee of the School of Pharmacy, CMU).

The school has abundant qualified faculties. Currently, there are over 90 faculty members in the school, including 25% of the faculty members with senior professional titles and 66% of the faculty members with Ph.D. degrees. There are 9 doctoral advisors, 18 master’s advisors, 3  teachers granted special allowance from the State Council, 1 teacher honored as the state-level outstanding teacher of the “National Ten-Thousand Talents Plan”, 1 national outstanding teacher, 5 teachers nominated in the provincial project of "Hundred, Thousand, Ten Thousand Talents", 3 distinguished professors of Liaoning Province, 1 outstanding expert of Liaoning Province,  1 provincial outstanding teacher, and 1 Liaoning Province Climb Scholar. Furthermore, over 10 teachers serve as Chairman, Vice Chairman, and standing committee member in the Chinese Medical Association, Chinese Pharmacological Society, China Association of Inventions, and provincial or municipal associations. They have a good reputation in the country.  

The school has a good academic atmosphere, and carries out intensive scientific research. The research focuses on pharmacology, toxicology, clinical pharmacy, drug design and evaluation, drug metabolism and pharmacokinetics, synthesis and screening of innovative drugs, and therapeutic material basis and quality standards of traditional Chinese medicine and natural medicine. At present, the school has 2 level-3 research laboratories, 3 level-2  research laboratories approved by the State Administration of Traditional Chinese Medicine, 1 key laboratory of the Department of Science and Technology of Liaoning Province, and 1 provincial innovative Research Team in Universities of the Liaoning Provincial Education Department.

The School has obtained many awards, including 2 Awards of National Science and Technology Achievement, more than 10 Awards of Provincial and Ministerial Science and Technology Achievement, and 10 other awards including Geneva International Invention Award, and prizes awarded by the Ministry of Education, Chinese Universities, Liaoning Province, and Shenyang City. The school has also obtained 2 national new drug certificates and 4 invention patents. The school has received research funds of approximately RMB 40 million in total from more than 70 national scientific research programs, 90 provincial scientific research programs and 10 international cooperation and grant programs. It has published more than 400 first-authored or corresponding-authored research papers, of which more than 150 papers have been published in SCIE journals. It has published more than 20 books. To date, more than 300 students with doctor or master’s degrees have graduated from the school. 

The industrial-academic-research integration is the important development goal

Previous:International Education School
Next:College of Basic Medical Science (CBMS)


Home > Schools & Departments > Content