Schools & Departments
Schools & Departments
China Medical University-The Queen’s University of Belfast Joint College
2016-10-18 Visit:


China Medical University (CMU)-The Queen’s University of Belfast (QUB) Joint College (CQC) was founded by CMU and QUB jointly on March 19th, 2014. It is a Sino-foreign cooperative education institute approved by the Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China and the People’s Government of Liaoning Province. The college is located in the campus of CMU in Shenyang North New Area.


CMU is one of the earliest medical universities in China that delivered western medicine education. Its precursor was the Military Medical School and Health School of the Chinese Workers and Peasants’ Red Army which was established in Ruijin, Jiangxi province in November 1931. In September 1940, proposed by Chairman Mao Zedong and approved by CPC Central Committee in Yan’an, it was renamed as China Medical University. Till now, CMU has trained more than 80,000 senior medical professionals, including more than 100 officers at the vice-ministerial level or above, 9 ministers or vice ministers of the National Health and Family Planning Commission, more than 40 PLA generals, 14 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Chinese Academy of Engineering. The clinical pharmacy program, among 19 undergraduate programs offered in CMU, has been ranking No.1 among 21 universities which open this program in the national undergraduate subject ranking system for four consecutive years. 


Founded by Queen Victoria in 1845, the Queen's University is located in the south of Belfast, capital of Northern Ireland. It is the ninth oldest university in the UK, a research-intensive university and a member of the Russell Group of the UK. The School of Pharmacy at Queen’s has been consistently listed as one of the leading centers for pharmacy education and research in the UK. The cooperation between CMU and QUB will enable CQC to be a world-class pharmacy school cultivating senior pharmaceutical elites.


CQC started the first recruitment in 2014 in two programs, pharmaceutical science and pharmaceutical biotechnology. CQC accepts applications from the first tier of examiners determined with the National College Entrance Examination. CQC recruited 58, 85 and 117 students in 2014, 2015 and 2016 respectively. CQC’s courses include foundation and specialized courses offered by both CMU and QUB faculty. CMU’s courses will last for all four school years and QUB’s courses will start from the second school year till year four. The whole teaching process will be implemented in CQC. However, for those extraordinary students, they may have the opportunity to study at QUB through exchange program in their senior years. The students will receive BSc diplomas from both CMU and QUB upon fulfilling all the graduation requirements. 


In CQC, the students will experience rich student life by taking part in various activities organized by university, college or student societies/clubs. CQC lays emphasis on fostering pro-active and pragmatic attitude of students. The students will acquire an integrated development in language, knowledge, skills and physical and mental health. CQC endeavors to provide whole English-language environment to the students and encourage them to directly communicate with QUB’s administrative staff, lecturers and government officers from the UK, so as to fully experience western learning atmosphere and campus culture. 


CQC graduates will be pharmaceutical specialists with excellent command of English and understanding of international rules.



Previous:​Distance Education School
Next: School of Humanities and Social Sciences


Home > Schools & Departments > Content